Piscataquis County Commissioners

Duties of the County Commissioners

Piscataquis County Court HouseThe Board of County Commissioners serves as the chief administrative body of the county. The statutes governing actions, duties, and responsibilities of the County Commissioners are laid out in Title 30A M.R.S.A. The County Commissioners have final authority over the operation of all county offices by elected or appointed county officials. The county promotes economic development by supporting the activities of the Piscataquis County Economic Development Council, http://www.pcedc.org/. The County Commissioners must act as a board and not on an individual basis in exercising this authority. (Title 30 A§102). The Board also serves as the municipal government of the unorganized territories within the county borders.

Piscataquis County is comprised of 92 unorganized townships (UTs), 17 organized townships, and two Plantations. The County Commissioners may provide services such as solid waste and fire protection to the unorganized townships. The county also maintains roads owned by the county within the UTs.

Piscataquis County has three County Commissioners who are elected for four-year terms. The Current County Commissioners are:

District 1:

Eric P. Ward -- Re-elected November 2010. Term expires December 31, 2014
P.O. Box 194
Greenville Jct. ME 04442
Home phone: (207) 695-2523
Cell phone: (207) 280-0891

District 1 includes the towns of Abbot, Beaver Cove, Greenville, Guilford, Kingsbury Plantation, Monson, Parkman, Shirley, and Wellington. The district also includes the Unorganized Territories of Blanchard, part of Elliotsville, and Northwestern Piscataquis County.

District 2:

James D. Annis -- Elected November 2012. Term expires December 31, 2016.
28 Orchard Rd
Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426
Home phone: (207) 564-0820

District 2 includes the towns of Dover-Foxcroft, Sangerville, Willimantic, Bowerbank, and part of Elliotsville.

District 3:

Frederick Y. Trask, Chairman of the County Commissioners, Re-elected November 2012. Term expires December 31, 2016.
P.O. Box 37
Milo, ME 04463
Cell phone: (207) 631-8190
Work phone: (207) 943-7746

District 3 includes the towns of Atkinson, Brownville, Lake View Plantation, Medford, Milo, and Sebec. It also includes Northeastern Piscataquis Unorganized Territory of Orneville.