Welcome to our County

Welcome to this haven for outdoor enthusiasts. Fishing, hunting, camping, hiking or a quiet weekend at a summer cottage can all be enjoyed here. Read a book by the fire this winter, or bundle up and hit our miles of snowmobile and cross country ski trails. Pull big fish up through auger holes and take plenty of pictures for the folks back home!!

​Our county is the size of the State of Connecticut, and is located in central Maine. We have a population of just over 17,000 people and with our miles and miles of forested land with a population of less than six inhabitants per square mile, we are still considered a “frontier county.” Natural resources are an important part of our heritage, both for work and for play.

We are very proud of our region, and love to share Maine’s great outdoors where eagles still fly and deer graze the fields. After admiring the local flora and fauna, be sure to come into town for dinner, shopping and a show.

LUPC Representative Needed

Piscataquis County Commissioners are seeking an individual who would like to serve on the LUPC Board of Commissioners to represent Piscataquis’s UT. Anyone interested who qualifies, see qualifications at Title 12 ss 683-A (2) Maine. If qualified, please send a letter of intent and a resume to:

LUPC Search
163 E. Main St.
Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426

by Friday, March 8 at 4:00 PM.

The Courthouse

Current Courthouse hours are 8 AM to 4 PM
Monday through Friday
207-564-2240 x4

The Peaks House

Current Peaks hours are 8:30 am to 4:00 PM with lunch break from 12:00 noon-12:30 pm
Monday through Friday

Piscataquis County Holidays for 2024

  • Monday, January 1 – New Years Day
  • Monday, January 15 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Monday, February 19 – Washington’s Birthday/President’s Day
  • Monday, April 15 – Patriot Day
  • Monday, May 27 – Memorial Day
  • Wednesday, June 19 – Juneteenth
  • Thursday, July 4 – Independence Day
  • Monday, September 2 – Labor Day
  • Monday, October 14 – Indigenous People Day
  • Monday, November 11 – Veterans Day
  • Thursday, November 28 – Thanksgiving Day
  • Friday, November 29 – Thanksgiving Friday
  • Wednesday, December 25 – Christmas Day

In an Emergency

If you have an emergency call 911!

Next Commissioner Meeting

Employment Opportunities

Correction Officers

The Piscataquis County Jail currently has openings. Full-time Corrections Officer Part-time Corrections Officer

read more

Hazard Mitigation Plan 2023

Piscataquis County Emergency Management Agency (EMA) has updated it’s Hazard Mitigation Plan for 2023.

News