Piscataquis County Commissioners

Duties of the County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners serves as the chief administrative body of the county. The statutes governing actions, duties, and responsibilities of the County Commissioners are laid out in Title 30A M.R.S.A. The County Commissioners have final authority over the operation of all county offices by elected or appointed county officials. The county promotes economic development by supporting the activities of the Piscataquis County Economic Development Council, http://www.pcedc.org/. The County Commissioners must act as a board and not on an individual basis in exercising this authority. (Title 30 A§102). The Board also serves as the municipal government of the unorganized territories within the county borders.

Piscataquis County is comprised of 92 unorganized townships (UTs), 17 organized townships, and two Plantations. The County Commissioners may provide services such as solid waste and fire protection to the unorganized townships. The county also maintains roads owned by the county within the UTs.

Piscataquis County has three County Commissioners who are elected for four-year terms. The Current County Commissioners are:

District 1:

James White — Chairman of the County Commissioners, Elected November 2014. Term expires December  31, 2022
306 Wharff Road, Guilford, Maine 04443
Phone: (207) 564-7308

District 1 includes the towns of Abbot, Blanchard Twp, Guilford, Kingsbury Plt, Monson, Parkman, Sangerville, Shirley, Wellington and Willimantic.

District 2:

James D. Annis -- Re-Elected November 2016. Term expires December 31, 2020.
28 Orchard Rd
Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426
Home phone: (207) 564-0820

District 2 includes the towns of Atkinson, Bowerbank, Dover-Foxcroft, Medford, Orneville Twp and Sebec.

District 3:

Wayne E. Erkkinen -- Elected November 2016. Term expires December 31, 2020.
Harford's Point Twp.
P.O. Box 436
Greenville Jct., Maine 04442 - 0436
Phone: (207) 280-0193 

District 3 includes the towns of Barnard Twp, Beaver Cove, Big Moose Twp, Brownville, Cove Point Twp, Ebeemee Twp, Elliottsville Twp, Frenchtown Twp, Greenville, Harford’s Point Twp, Katahdin Iron Works Twp, Kineo Twp, Lake View Plt, Lily Bay Twp, Milo, Moosehead Jct Twp, Shawtown Twp, Spencer Bay Twp, Williamsburg Twp and all other unorganized territories not otherwise listed.



Public Hearing - Mon. Nov 30th

Piscataquis County Commissioners will hold a Public Hearing for the FY 2021 Piscataquis County budget and the FY 2021-2022 Unorganized Territory budget Monday, Nov. 30, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. Commissioners’ chambers, Peaks Building 163 East Main St., Dover-Foxcroft.

Proposed County Budget Budget Memo  Proposed UT Budget Tax Allocation   

Meeting Agendas

  • December 1, 2020 Agenda +

    See the Meeting Agenda Proposed County Budget Budget Memo  Proposed UT Budget Tax Allocation    Read More
  • 1